Reasons Why I Allowed Abacha To Arrest Me – Obasanjo.

Former president, Olusegun Obasanjo, has
revealed the reasons why he allowed
himself to be arrested and jailed by former
military head of state, General Sanni
Abacha.
Olusegun Obasanjo
Recall that the former president was among
top politicians who openly stood against the
administration of the late military head of
state. General Sanni Abacha had however
ordered their arrest, trials and sentences of
these people but spared their lives due to
international pressure.
According to Leadership, Obasanjo in his
newest controversial memoir, ‘My Watch’,
narrated how a group, National Unity
Organisation was formed. It came into
existence to frustrate Abacha to leave
power. Obasanjo said Abacha “was so much
below average as an officer that no serious
attention was paid to him until he was
made to announce the coup”.
“I was not in doubt that Abacha would
attempt to silence me. This was clear from
his apparent ambition for life presidency of
Nigeria in insatiable appetite for corruption;
his looting directly from the Central Bank; his
need to silence everyone that could oppose
him in any form; his actions towards my
close friends and associates and his close
surveillance of me by his security both
within and outside Nigeria.”
Also recalling how during his visit to Kenya
for the funeral of the father of the
opposition leader, Raila Odinga, the Nigerian
Embassy officials wrote a report indicting
him, stating that “since Odinga was in
opposition to the government of Kenya
when he died, I had gone to Kenya to create
problems for the Kenyan government by
supporting the opposition, and the Nigerian
government should restrain me from
causing great problems between Nigeria
and Kenya.”
“Rumours about Abacha taking action
against me started to spread and ring
louder and louder. ”I had no fear because I
had done nothing to cause me fear or
anxiety. I was about my life and my business
unperturbed.”
Recall that business mogul and politician,
Chief Moshood Kashimawo Abiola, popularly
known as MKO, who was part of the
opposition party died amidst the brouhaha.
Just recently, MKO Abiola’s daughter, Hafsat
Abiola-Costello, said that her father
sacrificed all for the nation at the expense of
the suffering of his family.

Leave a Reply

