New tax chief, Fowler, restructures FIRS; redeploys 26 directors

The Executive Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service, FIRS,
Babatunde Fowler, has ordered the immediate restructuring of the
management of the agency with the transfer of 26 top officials in
the directorate cadre to different positions in various locations
across the country.
Under the exercise, the chairman introduced the State Coordinator
structure in the FIRS to help widen the net to capture more
registered corporate and individual tax payers towards increased
revenue generation.
The Head of Communication & Servicom Department, Wahab
Gbadamosi, explained in a statement that each of the 13 State
Coordinators would supervise operations in their areas of
jurisdictions of posting.
Two directors were moved to the headquarters in Abuja, while
three are expected to coordinate affairs in the states.
“Experienced deputy directors were transferred to FIRS’ Training
School and centres across the country as part of the efforts of the
Service to strengthen its knowledge transfer programme and
expeditious development of the capacity of its workforce in the
interim,” Mr. Gbadamosi said.
The State structure, he said, was part of the new FIRS Chairman’s
vision of minimizing the span of control, closer focus on
corporate taxpayers in all states of the federation and stronger
collaboration with State Boards of Internal Revenue, SBIR, to
increase overall tax yield acruable to the three tiers of government.
Under a new campaign to widen the tax base, the FIRS
spokesperson said FIRS registered additional 359,158 corporate
taxpayers within 107 days between October 13, 2015 and January
27, 2016.
He said the FIRS chairman plans to add at least 500,000 new
corporate taxpayers by 31st March 2016.
To widen the tax base further by an additional five million new
individual taxpayers to the country-wide tax register by December
2016, the FIRS Chairman plans to work with states under the Joint
Tax Board, JTB, structure.
Those affected by the latest posting include the Director of FCT and
North Central Region, Olufemi Faniyi, who was posted to the
Compliance Support Group, while Director, South-South and
South-East Directorate Department Innocent Ohagwa, is now
Acting State Coordinator, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa and Cross River
Director, Lagos Mainland (East and West Directorate) Department
Gbolaga Oshiga, is now Acting State Coordinator, Ogun, Oyo and
Osun States, while Director, North-West and North-East Regions
Directorate Department, Mohammed Magam, becomes the Acting
State Coordinator, Kebbi, Sokoto and Zamfara States.
Director, Oil and Gas Department, Lagos, Olufunlola Adediran,
was transferred to the Office of the Coordinating Director,
Domestic Tax Group in Abuja.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s